Dear Sister, You Are Loved

Dear Sister…

You are loved.

I know that may not be exciting news; nothing you haven’t heard before, but it’s true. Originally I wanted to write a letter to you about trust issues because that is my struggle with God right now. After growing up without a Father due to drugs, being let down time after time, and heartbreaks from men I’ve allowed in my life, it wasn’t hard for me to put God in the same box as I placed them. For years I’ve been running between “Yes God I trust You”, and “back in the box You go.”

But I know I can trust God.

Since I know that, I’m determined to trust Him. I’ve looked up many scriptures over the years and found them all very helpful. But tonight the Holy Spirit showed me something in Ephesians 1, 2, and 3. The first two chapters started to look like two long list of God’s love for me. Not just saying He loves me, but they show me how. To name a few off the list:

  • He adopted us
  • Brought peace to us
  • Showered His kindness on us
  • Gave us life
  • Sent His Son for us! My favorite!!

And so much more that I didn’t name. I saw that none of the ways He loves us is repeated in the two chapters because people need to be loved differently. Someone who does not have parents may need to be loved by knowing they have been adopted. Someone that grew up being mistreated may need to be loved by being showered with God’s kindness. Even if you feel like these aren’t areas you “need love” in, our Father gives you all these and more because in all honesty – you do.

Was Paul trying to build our trust in God with these two chapters? Think about it, when someone can love you the way you want to be loved AND MORE!! Being the emotional creatures that we are, we melt like ice cream on a hot day. We will trust that person with our LIFE!!! And with no doubt in sight. So now it all makes sense when in chapter 3:17-18 he says,

Then Christ will make His home in your hearts as you trust in Him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep His love is.

Could it be that he waited to put that in the letter after he has already wooed you with God’s love FOR YOU?! Maybe. Maybe not. But I do know that at the root of our ‘trust issues’ is fear. The fear of being let down, hurt again and any other reason we can think to have fear. Then I’m reminded of 1 John 4:18,

There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out [all] fear.

So my prayer for you is Ephesians 3:16-18. May it touch you in the deepest part of your heart that is too fragile to be touched by anyone else but the One Who Is Love. Because my dear sister,

You are loved.

XOXO,

Shantae

One thought on “Dear Sister, You Are Loved

Leave a Reply

